For those of you who are forming a Corporation or Limited liability company, the compliance experts of DOT Operating Authority will assist you throughout the whole process. We are here to ensure that you get a strong start. We can also help you with registering Doing Business As (DBA) name.
After establishing a business entity you will need to apply for a USDOT number. Getting trucking authority, such as USDOT number, can be a difficult process that allows no room for error and takes time. At DOT Operating Authority it is our goal to make it easy for you and save your time. If you are starting a trucking business, don’t wait to contact us, so we can help you comply with all DOT authority regulations. Do you want to reactivate or deactivate your old USDOT # or do any changes on it (Biennial Update)? Our experienced team has an aged and broad knowledge of trucking industry and all the paperwork associated with it. We will help you with every step on your way to starting a successful trucking company.
When you have business entity and USDOT number, you can apply for MC number (in the past known as ICC number). With MC Authority you will be able to operate Interstate. As soon as you get MC number, you need to submit proof of Insurance to FMCSA and file BOC-3 in 90 days. If you fail to file them in 90 days, your authority will be revoked. DOT Operating Authority will help you getting your Authority hassle free! We can also do name change or address change for your Authority, reinstate your MC #, or detach it from your USDOT #. Call us today!
UCR (Unified Carrier Registration)
Individuals and companies that operate commercial vehicles are required by the UCR to register their business with their state and pay an annual fee which is based off their fleet size. All private, exempt, and for hire carriers are included. We will process your UCR in less than an hour.
Getting IFTA License is not mandatory unless you qualify. By understanding your qualifications, you will avoid obtaining a fuel permit from each member province or state every time you travel through them. To qualify, you must also have a vehicle that transports people or property for compensation and:
– has three or more axles
– has two axles and a registered gross vehicle weight of 26,000 pounds or more
– used in a combination that has a registered gross vehicle weight of 26,000 pounds or more.
Any motor carrier 60,000 pounds or greater traveling Kentucky is subject to KYU tax. The KYU number is a tax license issued for the Kentucky Weight Distance Tax.There is no faster way to get your KYU issued, DOT Operating Authority is your best choice.
There are a few requirements that need to be met before actually being able to issue your KYU. For one, your USDOT number must be listed as an Interstate operator. Secondly, you must have an active MC Number if you are a for-hire carrier. Third, you must have a current UCR (Unified Carrier Registration) for your company. If you do not have the UCR on file for the current year, DOT Operating Authority will also be able to help you with it.
New Mexico WDT Permit
New Mexico enforces a weight-distance tax on owners, operators, and registrants of both intrastate and interstate commercial vehicles. The declared gross vehicle weight is in excess of 26,000 pounds. This tax relies on vehicle weight and miles traveled on the roads of New Mexico. Companies must register and apply each year for a New Mexico Weight Distance Tax Electronic Permit for each vehicle. A vehicle titled in New Mexico that is subject to the weight-distance tax and traveling intrastate is issued a weight-distance plate. A vehicle titled in New Mexico that is subject to the weight-distance tax and traveling interstate is issued an IRP plate.
Oregon Truck Permits
The State of Oregon requires trucking companies to get an Oregon Permit separately just for Oregon. However the skilled and experience staff at DOT Operating Authority is fully trained to help your trucking company to get the Oregon truck permits (Oregon Temporary pass and Trip permit).
Trucking permits are mandatory in terms to collect taxes from interstate truckers for fuel and miles operated over the highways of the United States. Each state may have a different tax rate on the fuel purchased and miles driven.
Whatever truck that is over 26,001 lbs or in combination over 26,001 lbs must gain permission when traveling across state lines. Truckers can choose to get temporary permits or order annual permits, which expire Dec. 31 of each year and temporary permits are typically good for 3 to 10 days. Truckers must also have license tags or temporary permits that allow you to cross state lines. Truck license Tags are valid for different durations based on the state of issue.
If you have any questions regarding trucking permits of any sort, do not hesitate to give us a call at 1-888-669-4383.
Quarterly IFTA Filings
Under IFTA, you are required to file quarterly fuel tax returns. The reporting quarters and due dates are:
Reporting Quarter Due Date
January – March April 30
April – June July 31
July – September October 31
October – December January 31
If the due date falls on a weekend or state holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day.
All licensees must file an IFTA tax return every quarter. A return must be filed each quarter even if:
• No taxable miles were traveled
• All miles traveled were in California
You must submit a “zero” return even if no taxable fuel was used.