loader image
facebook twitter Pintrest Google Plus
×
Leave a Message →
Our agents are not available right now. Please leave a message and we'll get back to you.
*
*
*
*
*

FREE QUOTE
I need:
scroll for more
Done

What is the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) ?

The UCR replaces the single state registration system. All motor carriers and other businesses involved with interstate commerce must submit annual fees based on fleet size. This is in order to supplement funding for state highway motor carrier registration and safety programs. The registration should be in the participating state.

All carriers such as private, for-hire or exempt carriers must register. This also includes:

  • Broker
  • Freight Forwarder
  • Leasing Company

    If you use a truck or are in the trucking industry, YOU MUST REGISTER.

What is the Fee Structure?

The one who registers must pay fees through what is called a “Base State”. A base state can work on behalf of participating states. Some states do not participate in this program. If your base state does not participate, then you must pay the UCR fee in a neighboring state that also participates. The following states do not participate: Arizona, Florida, Hawaii, Maryland, Nevada, New Jersey, Oregon, Vermont, Wyoming, and D.C

Let us help!

DOT Operating Authority handles all registrations. We will assist in your UCR compliance. Our experience in the trucking industry cannot be matched. We work so you don’t have to. We can also help operate Intrastate, Interstate and even across borders. Our staff will happily handle all the paperwork .DOT Operating Authority is the registration service you are looking for. We help assist trucking companies, brokers, motor carriers and other businesses that use commercial vehicles. We will help with all the functions of your registration needs.

UCR Renewal and Penalties

It’s smooth sailing for commercial motor vehicles that renew their registration.

If your UCR is unpaid, then this could devastate your business. Penalties can be as severe as vehicle detainment. The severity of these penalties could result in fees that sidetrack your business. Some states have a fine of $100 to upwards of $5000 dollars for a first-time offense. It is imperative that you renew your UCR.

If you need assistance with setting up your initial registration, or if you have questions on your renewal, our team of professionals will ensure that your registrations and filings are managed effectively, accurately and timely.

UCR Enforcement Penalties by State

  
AL$100 first offense, $500 subsequent offense. No Out-of-Service.
AR$100-500 first offense, $100-1000 subsequent offenses.
AZ
CAState base fine of $300-$1,000, plus specific fees that vary by county.
CO$1100 first offense, $2200 second offense, $3300 subsequent. No Out-of-Service.
CT$170 fine.
FL
GANone presently
HI
IDMisdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding six (6) months, or by a fine not exceeding $1,000, or both. A citation would require a bond to be posted, the amount to be determined by a magistrate judge, but probably around $300.
IL$300 first offense, $500 second offense.
IN$150 first offense, $1000 subsequent offense.
IA$250 fine.
KSCivil fines discovered at roadside $300, Civil fines through a compliance audit are $100-1000 first offense, $100-5000 subsequent offense.
KYRange of $25 to $250.
LA$250 fine.
MEA traffic infraction for which a fine of not less than $250 for the first offense and not less than $500 for a 2nd or subsequent offense may be adjudged.
MA$100 first offense, $200 subsequent offense.
MD
MIUp to $500 for for hire carriers.
MN$100 fine, plus $78 in court costs.
MSMisdemeanor; $100 to $500 plus court cost and assessment fees that vary by county.
MOVaries with the county; with an audit, state can impose a general fine up to $2000 per day.
MTOnly a warning at this point.
NEClass IV misdemeanor with a minimum fine of $100. If evidence of multiple ongoing violations, law enforcement would seek a greater fine.
NH$100 plus penalty assessment for a first offense and $500 plus penalty assessment for a subsequent offense in a 12-month period.
NM$50 penalty assessment misdemeanor. With formal proceeding, up to $10000 per day.
NJ
NYWith formal proceeding, up to $5000.
NC$1,000 penalty for each offense charged in violation of the Motor Carrier Safety Regulation Article
NDNone presently but can hold IRP and IFTA renewals for UCR nonpayment.
NV
OHOperating a motor vehicle in violation of UCR registration requirements -$500 per occurrence; any entity that fails to register and pay fees as required - $1,000; any entity that provides false, or misleading information on application - $5,000.
Ok$300 first offense, $400 second, $500 subsequent.
OR
PANone presently.
RI$300.
SC$232.50.
SD$154 fine.
TNState base fine of $50, plus court costs that are county specific.
TXClass C Misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine of $1 to $500 plus court costs. The fine amount is set by the assigned judge noted on the citation.
UTCVSA Inspections first time.
VAClass IV misdemeanor, $250 fine.
VT
WA$124.
WV$100-1000.
WI$750.
WY
Call DOT Operating Authority at (888) 669-4383 and let us do the rest. Our agents will happily assist you.
Close Menu
EN
ES EN